Catfish

  1. If you were in Nev’s shoes what would you have done?
  2. What are some steps you can take that will prevent you from being cat-fished in the first place.
  3. Should big social media companies be responsible or be required to be more stringent in their removal of fake accounts?

In the 21st Century everyone has an internet presence, even my grandma. The ubiquity of social media has made it easier for people to create fictitious personas online. Catfishing is a very real thing that happens to people and the documentary “Catfish” follows Nev as he is catfished by Angela. If I were in Nev’s place many things would have been different, first of all, I most likely wouldn’t have gotten engaged in a conversation with someone I had never met. Secondly, I would have made sure that the person I was talking to was real and someone I had met or knew personally. Many people simply accept friend requests or follow people because of “shared friends” or they “follow the same people” I am not one of those people. I make sure that I know that all of my friends are just that, my friends. Lastly, with my own pictures, I don’t have any posts on social media, though I have been tagged in pictures I never post my own. This is an excellent way to make sure your photos aren’t being used by someone else for nefarious purposes.

 

Leave a Reply

